May 9, 2007

Deja Vu All Over Again

Posted in Uncategorized at 11:51 am by classicalmusic

For me, going to museums conjures up memories of museums past.  Museums always make me nostalgic.

Hi, museum fans, nice to have you back.  As I mentioned, when I was starting out, I went to the museum a few weeks ago.  I hadn’t been to a museum in about 5 years but I had just had a disastrous job interview right around the corner from the museum and a little art was just what I needed to feel better again.  Entrance was kind of pricey but I was thrilled to discover that my gold Mastercard got me in for free, a nice bonus.  As soon as I walked in to the first exhibit, I entered a time warp.  Spread out all over the floor, in different positions, pensive and pondering, scribbling away, were university art students.  I had to step over them as if I was walking through a mine field.  Distracting, to say the least.  And why a time warp?  Because when I was a freshman in college I had to do a paper on an artist who was currently exhibiting in a NY museum.  I remember I chose Jim Dine and I went to the Whitney to check him out.  This was in 1975 – Dine was only 40 and already pretty famous.  At the time, he was well-known for his heart paintings and I remember that for me it was love at first sight (very colorful and eye catching).  And, so like the students strewn all over the floor, I scribbled my way through the museum that day.  The thing is I just had to write about his paintings and I put it all together when I got home into a term paper.  The students I stepped over in the museum were actually drawing; I think they were doing their own renderings of the paintings they were looking at.  Actually drawing or painting is way more impressive than just writing about it.   In any case going to the museum a few weeks ago reminded me of everything I love about them and it prompted this blog.  More to come.

Leave a Reply

