May 9, 2007

The Smithsonian Rocks

Posted in Uncategorized at 11:49 am by classicalmusic

Don’t make your first Smithsonian stop the Air & Space Museum – the American History Museum is way better.

Although I’ve told you that art museums are my favorites, I’ve been to others and I’ve enjoyed them, as well.  Last year I finally got to the Smithsonian in
Washington DC and it was pretty great.  I didn’t have the time or patience to go to all of the buildings but my first stop was the

Air & Space
Museum, which was good, though not nearly as good as I had expected.  I suppose I may have been influenced by the fact that I had just come from the

Holocaust
Museum, which as far as I was concerned was better done and much more memorable.  Yes, I know, you can’t compare, but on a purely objective basis, the
A & S
Museum couldn’t hold a candle to the

Holocaust
Museum in terms of effectiveness.   True, you don’t expect a plane or a jet to touch your soul or move you to tears but, a year later, I don’t remember anything about the
Air & Space
Museum and I remember many aspects of the

Holocaust
Museum to this day.  After the disappointment of the Air and
Space
Museum we went to the

Museum of
American History and, probably because we weren’t expecting much, we were pleasantly surprised. It was great.  The permanent exhibits were terrific and we were lucky enough to have two great temporary exhibits – one was about polio and the other about Ray Charles (who had recently died).  I have a cousin with polio – he was one of the last victims – so I found that exhibit particularly interesting.  I loved the TV exhibit (we even took a picture of Seinfeld’s “Puffy Shirt”) and the movie section (Dorothy’s shoes also warranted a quick snap).  And the burned and blackened flag that flew outside the
World
Trade
Center on September 11 succeeded in doing what the Air and

Space
Museum couldn’t – it moved me – and I’ll never forget it.

1 Comment »

  1. Rache said,

    I think you are wrong about the Air & Space Museum – it was my favorite! But I am glad someone is writing about museums. They are a wonderful place to relax and to learn. And it seems like nowadays they are only visited by tourists! Maybe there should be a campaign to visit local museums. You have motivated me to check out mine. Ta!


Leave a Reply

